Mano Po!

mano po!

Welcome to the Philippines!!!!

I have been working in Japan for several years now as a missionary, and i have been used to bowing as a sign of respect.  My one month of stay in our school  had helped me to reconnect to some of our practices here in the Philippines.

Doing the daily mass for our students here in St. Louis School of Mandaue, is a fulfilling experience.  i got to meet the students at the same time share my thoughts for the GoodNews of the day. At first I find it difficult on how to make my message relevant but as days goes on, i begin to make my message as simple as possible.

After the mass, students will come to me ask for blessing by taking my hands and putting it on their foreheads. As children, we do it to show respect for the people who are elder than us or to the priest. It also means that one is asking for blessing.  I am very happy that this practice had not died down.  While bowing in Japan is still practice by the people, I do hope that the practice of “mano” will also be practice by the Filipinos.

Leave a comment